Alone

Posted: October 17, 2013 in Articles, Experience
Tags: , ,

Being alone in a project or stuff has both advantage and disadvantages. Working alone at night, dealing wit problems alone, and most of the time, talking to your self alone.

One example I had was my trip to Japan. I was the only participant from our College. My batch mates came from all over the Philippines and so, I have to talk in Tagalog so we could understand each other. I also had one colleague with me, a true-blooded Taga-West. He is a Political Science student but we were assigned to different prefectures. Thus, leaving me with friends from Davao in my group.

In this case, I could barely speak Tagalog since I don’t use it as much in everyday of my life. I seldom talk to them in English because English was the only language that my group mates could speak considering the fact that we came from different ASEAN Nations- Brunei, Cambodia, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Myanmar, Laos, Indonesia, and of course, Philippines.

I could not deny the fact that when we get home to the hotel after a long tiring day, I look forward to someone whom I can talk to, a native speaker of the Hiligaynon Language so I could share what I have done for the day or what experience made me happy for that day. Good thing, I always end up in front of my laptop, searching the Social Networking Site and share to the world how great Japan is. Here is the actual speed test I conducted during my stay there and I have never seen this kind of connection before- this amazed me. Image

 

This experience of being alone also gave the advantage for me to know more colleagues and to explore the world of the Land of the Rising Sun. This helped me a lot in my personal growth considering that I have to work things out alone. This experience made me realize that being alone is not always about being sad, but of course, I can say that I was alone, but I was happy.

Next experience I had is deciding to be alone on my thesis. I chose of doing so because I am sick and tired of people are just dependent to you, but talk shit behind your back. It is like taking care of a pest. By doing so, I believe, I can preserve my sanity.

Yes, it has disadvantages like I’m facing all the problems alone. From searching for related studies and stuff, up to the printing with proper margining. But yes, I believe that this decision will make me become wiser and careful in everything that I do.

I am still in the middle of the process, but then I hope to finish this real soon. Not because of the grade, but the diploma for the degree that I look up to. One year more and my life alone will start. With that, I don’t bother dealing with problems of my life alone. I am confident because I have made it in my student life, why not in my adulthood?

If there is one thing I would like to emphasize, that would be BE INDEPENDENT.

Leave a Reply

