Dulla, Tagabi bags Mr. and Ms. COC 2014

Posted: October 21, 2013 in Articles, Journalism
Tags: ,

The newly-hailed Mr. And Ms. Communication 2014 were both from the third year curriculum and came from the same division, the Broadcasting Division as they were announced winners on September 20, 2013.

The pageant was tough as they were 8 pairs to be judged- 2 pairs from each curriculum. The interview and talents’ night was scheduled a week before the coronation night

John Kevin Dulla of Bachelor in Broadcasting 3-B did not fail to wow the crowd and the judges as he answered the question given to him with wit and conviction. He as well received the Best in Interview and Mr. Beauty Dynamics award.

“I feel very thankful and blessed that I have won the title of being the very first Mr. COC for it gave me an opportunity to go out in my comfort zone and improve myself,” Dulla said as he expressed his gratefulness.

Mizpah Faith Tagabi, also a Bachelor in Broadcasting Student 3-B walked with grace and charm with her red long gown. Tagabi also auditioned for Mr. and Ms. Mass Communications way back in her first year but unfortunately, she wasn’t able to pursue the crown. This year, she has proven her worth and will represent the College of Communication in the Mr. and Ms. West Visayas State University 2014. She received the Best in Long Gown and Best in Play Suit award during the coronation night.

“Honestly, before the pageant night, I feel so nervous and clueless of what could possibly happen. It wasn’t easy for me because my parents didn’t know about this. I was shocked because I didn’t expect to become the Ms. Communication 2014. I am happy because I won the title, and I am pressured also for the upcoming pageant, Mr. and Ms. WVSU because there are a lot of expectations that I have to meet and it became a challenge to me to show to everyone that beauty isn’t enough but a good personality and intelligence are the best assets for the competition. I may not be the perfect candidate but I want to inspire all students in the campus,” Tagabi exclaimed.

Sofia Nadine Daban, junior journalism student and Jethro Aranas, junior development communication student were announced the 1st runners-up. Rose Yanna Mallo, senior broadcasting student and Jonathan Pagunsan were determined as the 2nd runners-up in the competition.

Due to some unmet requirements, Dulla will not make it to the Mr. and Ms. West Visayas State University 2014. Instead, Jethro Aranas, the 1st runner-up will compete with Ms. Tagabi on the upcoming pageant.

Leave a Reply

