Typhoon Haiyan

Posted: November 12, 2013 in Articles, Experience
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As I received the news that a super typhoon was coming, I acted like a normal creature. Acting like everything will be under control and everything is going to be alright like every other typhoon comes to our country. I was wrong.

The Philippines has been in grief these past few days. It was because of super typhoon Yolanda with international name Haiyan. It was the strongest typhoon for me because this was the first time I have seen the strongest winds that feared nothing. Electricity went out, different kinds of trees have fallen, and many houses have been destroyed. The tragedy has occurred few days earlier, and so the total number of death has not yet determined. All I know is that, hundreds of families is now in the state of trauma.

Yolanda had its landfall at exactly 11:45 A.M. of November 8, 2013 in our place, Banate, Iloilo. At first, you can only feel the whispering of the wind, the tiny drops of rain, and the sound of the dancing leaves. At the later part, the wind becomes stronger and the rain poured so hard, Yolanda was unstoppable. It begun to tear off the roofs of every houses and It begun destroying everyone.

Earlier that day, I rushed to the terminal so I can catch a trip from the city to my hometown. I decided to go home because I thought that Yolanda will be stronger in the city (just like what Typhon Frank was 3 years ago). I was wrong. During my trip, I have seen that the streets are empty- no vendors, not too much vehicles and PUJs. Some already cut off their tall plants to avoid unlikely happening when Yolanda arrives.

There were 4 of us who are staying in our house, my mum, my Dad, and someone who helps us do the chores in the house. When I arrived, my dad really looked worried. Just then I realized that me too should be worried since our house is 3 decades old and that it is made up of woods. It is just easy to be flown by strong the wind since it is a two-storey house.

Our loud prayer competed with the noise of the wind. I can clearly hear how it was like when the wind knocked out trees and posts. I was also surprised when our rice mill has devastated by the fearless wind. It blown away the roofs of the rice mill, leaving sacks of rice inside it, wet.

Billboards had broken down and sheds crumpled with each other like a paper. Everyone was nervous on what Yolanda can do, but most of them believed that prayers are the strongest. In other barangays, people just tie their roof and ceiling and hold them up so the wind will not be able to blow them up.

At the middle of the storm, I decided to visit our kitchen. I saw our tied dog, fighting his state of being afraid against the falling debris on the roof. I decided to go out, and tried letting him go so I could transfer him in a safer place. But then, I wasn’t able to do it because he closely bit me. I asked a man in our neighbourhood to do it for me.

The heavy rain and the strong winds ended at nearly 8 o’clock in the evening. Just then we realized how cruel Yolanda was to our town. We can see wires and cables down the street and the roofs scattered everywhere.

What we saw that evening was only 1/8 of the damage Yolanda has given us. At 6:00 o’clock in the morning of November 9, all went out of their houses, staring on the surroundings. Everybody was shocked and every one doesn’t know what to do. The sun came out as if nothing happened a day before.

Never did I think that everything will become this worse. Now, it will take a month or two before the electricity will be restored. Meaning, all the towns in Northern Iloilo will have to celebrate dark Christmas. Nevertheless, I really feel sorry in the parts of Central Visayas, particularly in Tacloban City. As well as in Antique, Roxas City, and Capiz as some of my friends live there. They need the most help. Every day for them is a struggle, fighting for their lives.

I think, the Filipinos do not deserve this test. But since God allowed this to happen, I believe that there is more adept reason behind why this happen. Please do not say that Filipinos did not get ready for the typhoon. We did. We did prepare to the extent that some already evacuated their area 2 days before. It was just, Yolanda was a monster, she was unpredictable, and we never thought that she was that cruel.

I believe in the Filipino spirit. Sooner or later, we will get by this. For now, everyone, who reads my blog, can do a little help to the Filipino people. I myself have been a victim but it is not a sin to help others who have worse situation than I have. Pray and Help for the Philippines!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Comments

Leave a Reply

