COC Grand Rally Speech

Posted: February 26, 2014 in Articles
Tags: , , , ,

To the faculty members around, students of the College of Communication, and the University Students Alliance which also fights to serve the College, good evening. I am Lara Jeunesse Iran Villaruel of Bachelor in Journalism 3-A running for the position of Chairperson under the mighty banner of Samahan at Ugnayan ng Malalayang Mag-aaral. I am your outgoing Assistant Secretary of the Student Council and will be willing to serve you for the next academic year.

Many of you might think that I may not be sincere of my candidacy because I am reading my speech. I must admit that though I can speak in front of a crowd, I can express myself better through writing. So, I decided to write and brainstorm what the content of my speech will be before I finally speak before you.

I am not a person who is fond of making promises. For me, the word “promise” is sacred. What I can offer you, my fellow-students, is the purity of my intention to help you and our College, and my commitment of serving all of you without expecting something in return.

I can say that leadership is like writing. In writing, you have to think and use the techniques that will satisfy the need of your audience, of whom you are writing to. Very close to leadership, for a good leader needs to be strategic and wise in combatting the problem and catering the needs of the ones who need him. And in this case, I would like to volunteer myself.

If asked what I have done in the Student Council for the past academic year for me to be voted again, I don’t have many things to brag. I satisfy my duties and responsibilities through waking up early morning for the sign in and it is a very difficult challenge to wake up at 6 and be around before 7 o’clock, especially for students like us. I also must say that what I contributed to the council have not been meaningful without the help of other officers. With cooperation, we enjoyed countless victories during the academic year 2013-2014.

We can make these victories again. Our College needs leaders in deed. We need Gange and Bacinillo as College Representatives, Ricamonte as Asst. P.I.O., Mariano as P.I.O., Bade as Asst. Auditor, Bayhon as Auditor, Escantilla as Asst. Buss Manager, Galicia as Buss. Manager, Frondoza as Asst. Treasurer, Pasit for Treasurer, Arzaga as Asst. Secretary, Torotoro as Secretary, and Bernabe for Vice- Chairperson. Not to forget Gerald Pinpin as USC Chairperson and Jerik Fernandez as USC Vice- Chairperson.

We have uttered our platforms during the room-to-room campaign. Basically, we propose that the College of Communication toilets will always be maintained of cleanliness and be filled with water. Through efforts, we will look forward for the extension of service of the radio station so everyone will be well-informed. Lastly, through your help, we will try to add our media equipment through private partnerships. I believe that together, we can make it happen.

Some of my colleagues have asked me why I ran under SUMAMA. It is simply because, I go with people with concrete and realistic platforms. I did not ran under SUMAMA just to give me justice of being a SUMAMA member last year, but because people in SUMAMA strives, motivates, improves, listens, empowers, and serves. For the information of everybody, SUMAMA originated in our College, so we hope that every one of you will support our party.

My dear COC students, please do not forget me and the rest of my party mates. Let me end by saying, vote wisely and let the winners prove that they are worthy. Thank you so much and good evening.

Leave a Reply

